UTL vs Exide batteries

Exide's EL Ultra lists 72 months and its Home InvaTubular 66, against 60 on UTL's 150 Ah tubular batteries. UTL's larger 170 Ah USB 17100 lists the longest total of any battery here, at 100 months.

Updated 26 September 2026

Exide is best known for batteries, and against UTL’s 150 Ah tubulars it lists the longer warranties. UTL’s 170 Ah USB 17100 lists a longer total than any of them. It is a larger battery, and UTL does not state how its 100 months divide between free replacement and pro-rata, so ask for that in writing before you weigh it.

Warranty, model by model

From each brand’s published figures, checked 26 September 2026
BatteryWarranty
UTL USB 17100, 170 Ah100 months in total; the split is not stated in UTL’s specifications
Exide EL Ultra Tubular72 months: 54 free replacement + 18 pro-rata
Exide Home InvaTubular66 months: 48 free replacement + 18 pro-rata
UTL UST1560, 150 Ah heavy duty60 months
UTL UIT16036, 150 Ah36 + 24 months

Total warranty on a battery

  • UTL USB 17100, 170 Ah Split not stated 100 months
  • Exide EL Ultra Tubular 54 free + 18 pro-rata 72 months
  • Exide Home InvaTubular 48 free + 18 pro-rata 66 months
  • UTL UST1560, 150 Ah Heavy duty 60 months
  • UTL UIT16036, 150 Ah 36 free + 24 60 months
Totals, from each brand's own pages. The free-replacement part matters most, and it is in the table above where the brand states it.
Show as a table
Total warranty on a batteryWarranty, months
UTL USB 17100, 170 Ah (Split not stated) 100 months
Exide EL Ultra Tubular (54 free + 18 pro-rata) 72 months
Exide Home InvaTubular (48 free + 18 pro-rata) 66 months
UTL UST1560, 150 Ah (Heavy duty) 60 months
UTL UIT16036, 150 Ah (36 free + 24) 60 months

Choose Exide if

  • The free-replacement period matters most. Exide states it outright: 54 months on the EL Ultra.

Choose UTL if

  • You want the battery, the inverter or PCU, and the panels from one brand, so one service network answers for the whole system. A hybrid solar system is where that counts most.
  • You are sizing the battery bank with the rest of the system. Our hybrid calculator works out the inverter, the batteries and the panels together.

Where RSK Solar Energy fits

RSK Solar Energy is a UTL Solar distributor in Mohali. We do not stock Exide, so we can quote the UTL side. If you have an Exide quote, send it with ours and we will go through the two model by model. For how many batteries a system needs, see batteries for a 3 kW system.

Sources

Questions we are asked

Which has the longer battery warranty, UTL or Exide?

It depends on the battery. Exide's EL Ultra Tubular lists 72 months, 54 of them free replacement, and the Home InvaTubular 66, 48 of them free. UTL lists 60 months on its 150 Ah UIT16036 and UST1560, and 100 months in total on its larger 170 Ah USB 17100.

What does free replacement plus pro-rata mean?

In the free-replacement months a failed battery is replaced at no charge. In the pro-rata months you pay part of the price of a new one, depending on how far through the warranty you are. Compare the free-replacement months first.

Does RSK Solar Energy sell Exide?

No. RSK Solar Energy is a UTL Solar distributor. We can quote the UTL side and help you compare it with an Exide quote from an Exide dealer.